Chart Merger Feature
If the user accidentally created two charts for the same patient, this function will allow the user to merge them into one chart.
Explanation of Feature
The Chart Merger is a tool that allows the user to merge two patient charts. The user can do this by selecting a chart to merge from and a chart to merge to.
Chart Merger Warning
VERY IMPORTANT: Most of the documentation from both charts will be present in the merged chart. However, there are certain sections of the chart that will only be retained from the chart being merged to. These sections include:
- Custom Demographics
- Vital Signs
- Health Maintenance
- Clinical Suite customers: Financial Data/Claims/Statements
- Optional: Summaries can be merged if desired (only in 2012.0.3063+; in versions prior to this the Summaries will not merge)
These sections will not be saved from the "Merge From" chart. Before the user begins, look carefully at each of these sections. Copy data from the "Merge From" chart to the "Merge To" chart, to make sure that the "To" chart has all the data needed in those sections.
In current versions, Summaries from the "Merge From" and "Merge To" chart can be combined. In versions prior to 2012.0.3063, the Summaries will not merge therefore data must be copied to the "To" chart prior to performing a merge.
It is not possible to un-merge two charts, therefore it is recommended that the use of this feature be limited in security, to one person, or a small number of experienced staff. A backup of a user's SOAPware data is recommended prior to merging patient charts.
Directions to Merge Charts
First, select the chart to Merge From. To do this, Click the "Select" button that corresponds to the Merge From field. This will open the Merge From dialog box, which will allow the user to select a patient chart by either typing information into the Search field, or by clicking on a letter and selecting the chart. Once the user has selected the chart to Merge From, Click "Select" at the bottom of the window.
*Note: Data from some sections of the "Merge From" chart will be lost. Please see the "Chart Merger Warning" above.
Next, select the chart to Merge To. This will open the Merge To dialog box, which will allow the user to select a patient chart by either typing information into the Search field, or by clicking on a letter and selecting the chart. Once the user has selected the chart to Merge To, Click "Select" at the bottom of the window.
In the Merge Charts dialog box, the charts the user has selected will be displayed in the Merge From and Merge To fields. Prior to merging the charts, ensure that both of the charts you are attempting to merge are closed and do not contain locked documents. After verifying this, click the "Merge" button to merge the charts.
*Note: It is recommended that the user check the chart that was selected in the Merge To field to ensure a complete and accurate merge.
The user will be presented with a Merge Warning if you are attempting to merge a charge that is currently in use. If one of the charts is open by another user or if the chart contains a locked document, the merging process cannot be completed.
Once both charts have been closed and are unlocked, please reattempt the merge process.