Removing a Provider
This lesson will demonstrate how to deactivate a provider and remove them from SOAPware.
The providers listed in provider manager are linked to the owners of documents and charts within SOAPware as well as the Security audits. Providers in the provider manager are also set up with Surescripts for ePrescribing. Therefore, if a provider needs to be removed from SOAPware, the following steps must be taken.
*Note: A user SHOULD NOT simply change the name of an inactive provider to the name of a new provider. The old provider should be inactivated, then a new provider added. If the name is changed on an existing provider, all previous document that were owned by that provider, all charts and all security audit logs will be changed to the new provider's name. This is why it is important to follow the steps detailed below in order to deactivate a provider. After deactivating the old provider, the user may use that license to add a newly hired provider to the SOAPware system.